Drinking at parties is a lifestyle for me, up to now I thought the worst thing that could happen is alcohol poisoning where you have to either die or get your stomach pumped at the local hospital. After drinking heavy for the better part of two decades, I am used to chronic dehydration and frequent illness. But I soon learned that there is much more that can happen to you when you drink and drive.
After I had received my first DWI charge, the policewoman was very candid on what the next step for me after I pay my bail and the court date determined. I have to be aware that the State of Texas takes a strong stance on the laws related to DWI. In Texas, there is someone hurt or killed every 20 minutes because of alcohol-related driving accidents. If a child is in the car, the fines are increased, and child endangerment charges can be filed against you for driving while intoxicated.
If or when you get pulled over, and the police officer request you take a blood or breath alcohol test and you refuse, you will have your driver license automatically suspended for 180 days. If you have a blood or breath alcohol concentration at or above .08, you will be charged with DWI.
I wish I could give you better news, but things are about to get worse. Also, the fines can be quite overwhelming. The first offense fine is up to $2,000 and can carry a jail sentence of 3-180 days depending on your particular case. If you can pay the fines, you still may lose your license to drive for up to a year. The state will charge you annual fees for up to 3 years just to retain a license.
I learned that if you drive intoxicated, you will put other people’s life at risk not to mention your own. If you have a family, you can relate to how precious life is and you would not want anyone else harming or killing your wife or children.
If you have been charged with a DWI, visit their website to minimize the effect of this very serious charge.
DWI Attorneys of San Antonio
21750 Hardy Oak Blvd #102
San Antonio, TX 78258